2002-10-08
Life is a series of contingencies. What happened yesterday affects what occurs today which, in turn, sets the stage for tomorrow. We are all overlapping and blurry. Reality isn't a set of sharp contrasts existing independent of each other ... but a framework of intersections defined by a whole bunch of fuzzy lines.

Bare with me for a moment. I'm digging my soapbox.

Assuming this logic, everything I do has substantial influence on what becomes of me. My actions do not exist independent of each other. My reality isn't some variable irrespective of me. Instead, it is malleable and flexible. It is within my control.

Essentially, we are the exquisite architects of our destinies. Leaving aside for the moment God, Allah, Big Bang, Alien Life or whatever various deity/entity people give credit to for their being, I believe the ultimate force in your life is you.

So, sometimes life throws you a curveball.

It sucks ... but it happens.

At times, things seems a little more rough and tumble than warm and fuzzy.

There may be days when your bed seems like the only safe place left in the world.

(Understand when I say "you" ... I also mean "me".)

Cry about it. But don't let it keep you from who you are meant to be.

It's true. There are circumstances that are out of our control. Your mom is killed by a falling piano. A shark eats your leg. You're blinded by a swarm of African killer bees.

Or maybe you get cancer.

But these events don't have to determine your life. Or lack thereof.

Cry over the pain. Cry over the loss. Cry over the lonliness.

I think that's completely natural. And extremely healthy.

But realize that you are in control here. Not matter what anybody tells you.

No, life isn't like baking. Things aren't measured and predictable. And we don't always know that, if we do everything right, in the end it will all be okay.

But isn't that what makes us alive? The fact that everyday we can achieve more. Act differently. Begin anew. Isn't life about variation?

Isn't being alive the fact that we don't know what's around that corner. For good or for bad.

And, amidst all the slings and arrows of the outrageous fortune, there is one constant: You.

How you act. How you react. How you cope. How you love.

Oh, and of course, how you live.

This is the source of our power. And we are indeed very powerful beings.

So, the next time something bad happens to you and you think that you have no control over your life ... think again.

In fact, you are the only one who has control.

last - next

archives - newest - email - book - profile - notes - design - diaryland