2002-12-29
The time has come, the walrus said, to talk of many things.

So much to tell, so much to tell.

First of all, I'm still in Canada. Found a moment to spirit away and sneak in a little update. Can I just say that Canada has some of the friendliest people on the face of the earth. Granted I haven't met everyone on the face of the earth but I think, even if I did, I would come to the same conclusion. I think the accent has something to do with it ... it is so inviting. Very "Fargo"-esque,if you ask me. It is damn near adorable. However, because Canadians end their sentences on an upnote - I can never tell if they are making a statement or asking a question. Like the other day, Jake's mom said "You're going to the store now". I didn't know if she meant "Are you going to the store now?" or if she was going all commando on me and demanding me "to go to the store now!".

And I have just have to giggle everytime sometimes talks about O.P.P. For me, it means something totally different from "Ontario Provential Police".

I'm typing on my in-law's computer. Jake is over at his dad's fixing/connecting/manufacturing something that has to do with a stereo. He somewhat explained it to me but, since information about electronic equipment means about as much to me as directions on how to get to Antartica, I tuned it out. Jake still doesn't realize my complete disinterest in electronics. He loves to take me to Best Buy to show me the newest, biggest, clearest, most expensive television sets. As if I garner some sort of thrill from this. Well, I guess I do -it makes him happy so it makes me happy. And I get to watch DVD's for free. Watched the movie "IceAge" on display TV's at Cosco while Jake elaborated on about "pixels" and their impact on picture quality. I didn't really understand what he was talking about - but one thing I do know is there's nothing funnier than a talking sloth.

Except maybe a talking hamster. Man, I love those Blockbuster commercials.

Anyway, I am having a wonderful time. Christmas was great -although I was sick all Christmas day. But the bright side of vomiting all day is when you stop vomiting. You feel like you have a new lease on life. All of a sudden you don't care about money, fame,power, or status. The only thing that matters to you is that you can keep milk down. Being sick drastically realigns your priorties. I have never been so damn happy to eat saltine crackers in my life.

I was only really sick for Christmas day. Everyone was really good about it and Jake pampered me to death. However, he accidently gave me an antihistamine and anti-nausea medication at the same time. Which you are not suppose to do. I jokingly told him to wait to do that until after he's taken out an insurance policy on me.

I hope he knows I was only joking.

But I survived without any major complications. And was healthy enough to have dinner at his dad's house Christmas night. I was a little weak but none worse for the wear and tear.

So now I'm just relaxing and waiting for Jake to get back. Tonight we are going out with a couple friends of ours and Jake's sister and her boyfriend.

If you ever get a chance, take a visit to Canada. I always have a great time whenever I come up north. I think part of it is that I surrond myself with really good people -but I also have to give props to the Canadians. They have never been anything less than delightful to me. Friends and strangers alike. And definitley try the coffee. Although bordering a bit on the cultish side, Tim Horton's definitely hits the spot on these cold,winter nights.

Well, I probably won't get a chance to talk to you until I get back stateside. So make sure and have yourself a memorable New Year. Drink some champagne. Kiss someone you love. Stay up to see the sun rise.

Most important of all, think of this as a new beginning. Say goodbye to all those old ghosts - because a new year's a comin'. Fresh start and all.

Break out the good china. It's time to party.

Oh,if you happen to see my cat, tell her that I miss her. Really, really miss her. And that I'll be back home soon.

It's a little early - but before I leave, I'd like to lift my glass and give a little New Year's toast to you:

"Here's to new years and second chances."

Thank god for both.

last - next

archives - newest - email - book - profile - notes - design - diaryland