2003-02-07
I've been in my housecoat all day.

It's been that kind of day. We had a snowstorm here last night so everything was closed today. We have six inches of snow on the ground ... which, in Delaware, means that the entire state has shut down. Everything has been cancelled. All city offices have been closed. I am awaiting the panicking cries of "The World in Ending! The World is Ending!" as people run screaming down the streets.

I, on the other hand, have remained calm and collected throughout the whole crisis situation. Sure, I'll admit, there were a few instants there when I wondered if we would make it through this ... I mean, it is SIX INCHES of snow. That's almost a FOOT, people. It comes up all the way up to my mid-calf region, for the love of god. My toes could turn black and fall off if I stood out there ... without shoes. In the unshoveled part of the driveway. For a really long time.

But I remain focused. It doesn't do me any good to lose my head during an emergency.

Actually, come to think of it, it really doesn't do me any good to lose my head ...period. Across the board and in any situation, decapitation is not a good thing.

I think Jake is handling it well. I mean, he's putting up a good face, you know. Sitting there, playing with the Sony playstation and eating pizza ... just by looking at him you would never know that there is a BLIZZARD RAGING OUTSIDE.

AND THAT WE'RE PERILOUSLY CLOSE TO A SLOW,AGONIZING ARTIC DEATH!

He's such a little trooper, he is.

The only thing I'm afraid of is ...what happens if we run out of food? Will we turn all Donner party and start roasting each other in order to stay alive? Will my cat start to look increasingly more and more like a walking appetizer as time goes on????

I can't think that way. I just can't. I'm getting myself all excited. My toes will start curling and everything if I don't CALM MYSELF DOWN.

Okay. Only positive thoughts.

We WILL be okay. We WILL make it through this. We WILL order Chinese food instead of pulling a Fatal Attraction and boiling my cat. Even if it's from that place with the runny sweet and sour sauce.

When it comes to survival, I'm willing to make that sacrifice.

My stomach is tight from hunger. The last time I ate something was an hour and a half ago. I don't know if I can go on at this pace. I think I'm starting to feel a little lightheaded. Oh my god! Things went black suddenly! I think I'm going to pass out!

Oops. That's just because Jake turned the lights off. Sorry.

Anyway, I should go eat something. Have to keep my strength up and all. Besides, Buffy's on FX.

Death, smeath. It's not worth missing Buffy over.

last - next

archives - newest - email - book - profile - notes - design - diaryland