2003-02-11
I have a really hard time listening to music and typing at the same time.

I have the proper motor skills and all but I'm not very good at multi-tasking.

Just wanted to warn you in case this entry seems a bit wonky.

So, get this. I have had a computer with a CD rom now for about six years. I have had a CD player for over ten years. I understand how a CD player works. I understand how a computer works.

Yet, for years, I've been sitting in this basement wanting to listen to music but being stumped because the only CD player we have down here is hooked up to Jake's DJing equipment. And it takes a Masters degree in Engineering even to figure out how to turn it on.

Then today - like an epiphany - it came to me:

Put the CD *in* the computer and play it.

Voila. I got music.

I know, it's sad. You'd be surprised how easily I am confused. At first it was funny. Now it's just disturbing.

Anyway, I'm jammin' to a little Mr. Dave Matthews. It's a DB kinda day ... it's cold outside and I'm dreaming of summer. Dave Matthews always reminds me of summer.

Summer nights spent - with all the windows open - belly up and eyes closed across my bedroom floor head bobbing to "The Dreaming Tree".

The scent of raspberries, honeysuckles and backyard bonfires swirled together and sent drifting through the air.

If I had my way, that's would heaven would smell like. Like Summer.

God, I am so ready for warm weather.

Wait, I really like this track. Hold on. I can't type.

"This love will open our world/

From the dark side we can see the glow of something bright/

There's so much more to see here/

Don't burn the day"

Yeah, I know .. everybody likes that song. It's a good song though. Nothing wrong with following the herd from time to time.

I think we live our lives with a soundtrack. I mean, if you're anything like me (and I'm sure you are) ... a certain song can instantly resurrect memories that you didn't even know you had.

Okay, need to say good-bye to Dave. Getting sentimental for some reason. My emotions are kinda high today. I think I've been watching too much Lifetime.

Ah, much happier now. I'm listening to Juan Luis Guerra. It's merengue. Which, even though all the lyrics are about how poor and distraught his country is, has a delightful and danceable beat to it.

Now this one is just cute. It's called "Burbujas de Amor" or "Bubbles of Love". It's a love song.(Obviously) Apparently, he wants to be a fish so he can touch his nose to her fishbowl. And make bubbles of love.

You draw your own conclusions. I'm keeping my comments to myself.

Well, I should stop procrastinating now. I'm trying to finish up an essay I need to write .... but I'm not having much luck. My ability to be easily distracted coupled with my newly found CD player is too much for my braincells to process at one time.

I'm surprised I've made it this far with this entry.

But I do have to go now. The rhythm's got me.

Maybe I'll grab a Corona with a slice of lime, listen to merengue and spend the afternoon pretending I'm on a beach somewhere warm.

Or maybe I'll just go upstairs, make myself a hot cocoa, and finish my essay.

Dammit. I hate being responsible.

last - next

archives - newest - email - book - profile - notes - design - diaryland