2003-02-24
Today.

Kids, today was just one of those days.

Those days when I think I can't take one more thing.

Not One More.

Or I will literally cave in. When the sky feels like it's falling and, any second, it's gonna start raining fire.

Days like today make me wish that I was somewhere sandy and tropical sipping on a pink umbrella drink in a bamboo bar run by some guy named Juan, heckling the sailboats as they pass by ...

Somewhere. Anywhere. Far, far away from here.

But I'm not.

And no amount of wishing will take me away from my life.

And, really, that's how it should be. Because there are dragons to be slain. And monsters to fight.

And bills to be paid. And cats to feed. And husbands to love.

I got a life to live.

Yeah, my world's a little tight right now. Squeezing in on me. So it's a little hard to breathe.

And, maybe, my stomach feels topsy and my head's a bit twirly. Life's zooming by a little faster than expected and it's hard to hang on.

BUT ...

This is always how it is. Every single time. Right before it gets better.

There's a cover charge to life. In order to enjoy the show, you gotta pay the price.

Things have to be bad in order to get good. There has to be a storm before the rainbow. Darkness before the light.

I get it. I understand how it works. So I'm not too worried.

A little tired, maybe. But not too worried.

I got faith in the system.

Better days are comin'.

I can feel it in my bones.

last - next

archives - newest - email - book - profile - notes - design - diaryland