2003-04-11
I don't understand.

Much like the rest of the world, I've been monitoring the events in Iraq the past few days.

However, while I was happy with the images of people dancing in the streets when Baghdad was liberated, my joy was tempered by my own experience with reality.

That we are emotional creatures. Often governed by extremes. Behind every inordinate surge of happiness ... there looms the real possibility of disaster. Sometimes, the higher we fly ... the farther we fall.

So, when I watched the statue of Sadaam topple, I held my breath.

And waited for the coming storm.

Putting aside my own tempation to get caught up in the fervor of the moment, my logical side knew that, no matter how much an oppressed population wants freedom, sudden liberation without any provisions for order is bound to elicit chaos.

It makes sense really. I call it the "Willow" syndrome. Willow is a character from Buffy the Vampire Slayer. (surprise, surprise). She's very contained. She's the kind of personality that would never scream or yell or fly off the handle. She keeps herself within a very strict self-imposed structure.

Last season, Willow's lover was killed. Suddenly, that structure that had forced her to subdue everything within her - suddenly evaporated. And she went off the deep end. Turned evil. Skinned her enemy alive. Tried to murder her friends. Destroy the world.

Now, I'm not saying that the Iraqi people are going to start flaying anybody ... but, basically, it's the same situation.

They've been oppressed for so long - contained within Sadaam's enforced structure - that, now with their sudden freedom, they've exploded.

Okay, this is the part I don't understand.

When America decided to violate international policy and go against the United Nations, I voiced my definite opposition. Because it opened up a wormhole and destroyed the integrity of not only the United States - but the integrity of the United Nations as well.

So, I understood when people blamed the US for the pain and horror the war was causing.

Now jump ahead to fall of Baghdad. Suddenly, everyone's praising the US. Iraqis are flooding the streets waving American flags while kissing photocopied pictures of President Bush.

Can we say "bipolar"?

As an aside, I must say, anyone kissing Bush (photocopied or otherwise) is an unsettling image.

Anyway, then the looting started. And the chaos ensued.

Now, everyone's blaming the US ... again.

I get blaming the US for standing by while looters rampage right in front of them. I get being angry because they haven't really imposed much order. I get the resentment for having hospitals and universities picked dry.

Honestly, I would be pretty pissed off too.

But why hasn't anyone portioned a bit of the blame on the Iraqi people for their own actions?

I know it is trendy to blame the United States for all the evils of the world.

And, I have to say, in many respects I agree with our critics.

But sometimes, I feel as though it's easier to blame America for all that is wrong in the world than perhaps for some countries to accept partial responsibility for their dilemnas.

The way I see it is that every action happens because of a relationship. In order for events to arise, a variety of multiple factors must interact to create an effect.

A taker must have a giver. A ruler must have a follower. An abuser must have a victim.

Not saying that people are jumping in line to be oppressed or beaten or enslaved ... far from it. But what enables the powerful are people who give them that power. Otherwise, they are just ordinary human beings.

We may not be able to control our environment. But we can control our response to that environment.

For example, if a man hits you ... leave him. If you face discrimination ... fight against it. If you feel weak ... learn to be strong.

Granted, this is an easy thing to say while I am typing in my nice, cozy living room in my nice, free country.

But there are examples of this throughout history. Great example of controlling your response to adverse circumstances.

Look at the people who operated the Underground Railroad. I mean they risked their lives to give safe passage to slaves searching for freedom.

Or Oscar Schindler. He died penniliess because he spent all his money bribing and paying off Nazis to save the lives of condemned Jews.

These are extraordinary examples of understanding the power of your own actions.

The point I'm trying to make isn't that the Iraqis are at fault for their oppression. That would be an absolutely idiotic conclusion to make. One of the most effective methods to control people is through fear. I don't think I would have been able to stand up against Sadaam and refuse his oppression.

But now. Now is a different story.

Take away the threat. And people become drunk with their own release. Anger and vengeance and resentment boil inside of them.

I understand if they destroy statues of Sadaam. I understand if they burn his palaces and loot the offices of his officials.

They want to get a little payback. Avenge all the people, lives, and years that they've lost to him.

But tearing apart universities? Looting hospitals? Randomly killing people in the streets?

That's not the fault of the United States. That's the fault of the people committing those actions.

Then it's no longer about vengeance. It's about opportunity.

In times of extreme chaos - when all judicial law is suspended - that's when we truly know our morality. Without anyone enforcing our actions ... how would we react?

If you knew that you would not be held responsible ... would you take that the TV? Sleep with your husbands's sexy best friend? Read her secret diary? Rob your local bank?

No one can make you do or not do any of those things. Ultimately, you make that decision for yourself.

There's a point when you have to say enough is enough. Stop blaming other people and start to look at what part you play in your own problems.

Globally and personally, it's a hard thing to do. But necessary for any effective change.

And that, kiddies, concludes my burst of patriotism for this evening.

As always, sleep sweetly and try to dream in color.

last - next

archives - newest - email - book - profile - notes - design - diaryland