2003-05-25
The littlest things make my day.

My Yahoo account flashed the "You're Using 85% of Your Space" warning at me which means that I need to delete some of my old emails.

I am a hoarder of emails - much like I am of books. I always think that as soon as I delete one or throw it away ... that's exactly when I'll need it.

But, alas, Yahoo waits for no woman ... so I needed to do a little Spring cleaning. And get to deleting.

I have 78 emails saved from the correspondence between Jake and myself during our first few months together.

Definitely a sign of the times. Love Letter Emails.

Anyway, I came upon this one and it reminded me of that gooshy feeling you get when you first meet someone who makes your skin tingle and your head float.

Oh, Love. Ain't it Grand.

A few notes: "J Dogg" was my very short lived nickname for Jake. I was in an urban phase. It passed.

I think Jake was away on a business trip when I wrote this - which is why I'm tellng him to hurry home. Also, the "letter" I refer to are love letters I wrote for a few years before I met Jake. I think I've written about them in here before - but, in case I haven't, I wrote love letters to my anonymous soul mate before I met him. It kept me hopeful through all my near misses and miserable failures in love. It helped me believe that somewhere, someone was out there waiting for me. I continuend writing them through six boyfriends and three states. If I remember correctly, the last one I wrote simply said: "Where are you? I'm ready. Come to me."

A week later I met Jake. And never wrote another one again.

This isn't a spectacular email. No breathtaking prose or clever quips. Just one of the 78. But maybe that's why I like it. It was affectionate and honest without being dramatic. Your actions don't have to be earth shattering to show that you care about someone. Real love can exists even in the most mundane of activities. And in the most ordinary of relationships.

Or maybe I just think it's adorable. I do have my moments of cuteness.

Anyway, I'll shut up now. And give you a peek into my world:

Date: Tue, 5 Sep 2000 16:37:55 -0400 (EDT)

To: Jake

Subject: Mission Accomplished

Hey My Luscious Morsel of Love,

Just a little note before I head off to work. I walked down to the Municipal Building this afternoon and paid your ticket and parking fine.

The other thing that you thought was a violation was actually just a warning. The total came to $51.25. I got a receipt for both the fine and the ticket. So you're in the clear now. You are no longer a fugitive from the law. You can rest easy, you little outlaw you.

Anyway, sorry to bother you about the letter during your meeting. I just thought it was interesting. I had forgotten what I wrote ... and, as I was organizing my desk this morning looking for my deposit envelopes, I noticed that that was the last letter that I had not opened. I hadn't really looked at my love letters since I met you (since that night I showed them to you) because I haven't written a new one since then. On account that my last one was written only about a week before I met you, I was curious about what I had written in the letter. Needless to say, I was shocked when I read it. Makes you want to go Hmmmmmmm.

It is damn chilly here today. I am absolutely loving it. It feels like Fall ... and, it seems, everyone is in a good mood since the sticky heat wave broke. The world seems little brighter today, love. Or maybe it's just me. Either way, I am in an incredibly happy mood.

But, of course, not too happy - because I miss you.

Truly.Madly.And Deeply.

In other words, it's only been a day, and I already feel lost without you.

So get what you need to get done ... and HURRY THE HELL home, J dog. There's pool to play, beer to drink and love to make. So get to steppin', G. The hood just ain't the same without ya.

I'll give you a call when I get home from work. Talk to you soon :)

Sloppy Wet Kisses and Bone Crushing Hugs -

I don't know about you ... but I'm feeling a little better already.

last - next

archives - newest - email - book - profile - notes - design - diaryland