2003-11-27
Because I grew up in a Greek household, we never had a "normal" Thanksgiving. Standard American tradition dictates turkey, stuffing, gravy, mashed potatoes, canned cranberries and pumpkin pie.

In my household, we had slight alterations to that menu. Instead of turkey, we usually had duck. Instead of mashed potatoes, there were stuffed grape leaves. I don't think my dad even knew what a cranberry was - let alone that we were suppose to eat them. And I didn't have gravy until I was seventeen because my father didn't like the way it looked.

Which, in all honesty, I can't blame him. Although mighty tasty, if you're not used to it ... it's hard to convince someone that a brown, fatty liquid is appetizing.

We always had the pumpkin pie though. Thus began my pumpkin pie addiction which continues to this day.

I find it very amusing that I only really started celebrating true American Thankgiving when I married a Canadian. Believe me, the irony isn't lost on me.

For the last three years (since Jake and I have been together), he pulls out all stops for Thanksgiving. No instant mashed potatoes or box stuffing for us -Jake always makes everything homemade. Even smokes the turkey to give it that extra flavor.

What am I doing while he's whipping up his Thanksgiving culinary creations? Good question. Mainly, nothing. It's best that I stay out of the kitchen. The only thing that I might contribute to the occasion would be a fire hazard.

However, I did peel the potatoes this year. AND cut them. AND put water in the pot.

Granted, I'm not a threat to Emeril Lagasse's day job - but it's a start.

And the most important part is that the house did not get burned down at any point this evening.

Go me.

However, I say that but the night is still young. I think Jake wants me to put some biscuits in the oven in the very near future.

Times like these make me curse the fact that I live in a log cabin house. It's very susceptible to fire. And hords of stark raving beavers.

So wish me and my large wooden house luck.

And a Happy Turkey Day to all those who are celebrating it.

Even if you're not American, what the hell ... celebrate it anyway. Gives you a reason to get drunk, have fun, and eat a ridiculous amount of food.

Come to think of it - those are basically the same reasons the majority of Americans celebrate it anyway.

Well, that ... and for the pumpkin pie. But given my unnatural fixation with the pastry, I'm probably a little bias.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone. Enjoy your dead meat covered in brown, fatty liquid. I know I will. :)

last - next

archives - newest - email - book - profile - notes - design - diaryland